|Jesse Hook. (greeneconnections.com)|
He chose a new style of architecture for the exterior. Called “Italianate,” it was inspired by the relaxed country villas of Northern Italy. In the mid-19th century, architecture--like literature, music and art-- was influenced by the “Romantic Movement” which alluded to a more pastoral past. It held great appeal in the early days of the Industrial Revolution.
|Street paving, ca. 1903 (greeneconnections.com)|
Widely available pattern books from Andrew Jackson Downing and other architects encouraged replication of this new picturesque style that contrasted with the formal symmetry and classical ornamentation of the earlier Greek Revival. In Waynesburg, there are many fine examples of Greek Revival architecture, notably the Court House and Hanna Hall, completed just six years before Farmers & Drovers. Sadly, no examples of the Italian Villa style remain.
|Architecturally significant pediments throughout the building are
identical to the earliest section of the Denny House, ca. 1836, located nearby. This is the second floor hallway.
|Bank vault on second floor.|
|Identification plate on second floor vault. York Safe and Lock Company of York, PA was established in 1882. This unit was probably installed when the building was remodeled in 1890.|
|Streets were paved in 1903. This view shows the start of construction. The building with cupola in the background was the Downey House Hotel, destroyed by fire in December 1925. (greeneconnections.com)|
|An early owner was Issac Beeson (1795-1866) of Uniontown. (ancestry.com)|
In the 200+ years since Waynesburg was founded, this lot has hosted many commercial endeavors. From 1829 to 1855, it was owned by Isaac Beeson, “the merchant prince of Uniontown,” whose local partner was his brother-in-law, Henry Lyle Pennock. Although we don’t know what the early Beeson & Pennock Store looked like, it’s possible that the present structure was erected on its stone foundation.